Illinois driver's license points work through a simple point system. Moving violations of all types have points values assigned to them and these points are applied to a driver's record if they are convicted. Different points are assigned based on the severity of the violation, for example driving with excess speed will have more points given the further over the speed limit you were driving. After receiving enough traffic violation convictions you will have your driving privileges suspended, with the points total you accumulated impacting the length of the suspension.
An experienced traffic attorney will know the different ways to negotiate for your case in order to have your punishments lessened or even have your charges dismissed. At DUI Lawyers 24/7, we have a dedicated legal team with the knowledge and legal experience you will need to get the best possible result for your case. Contact us today to schedule a free case consultation.
License Points Per Traffic Violation in Illinois
Different moving violations are assigned different point values depending on their severity. It is important to know the point value of any past convictions as they can determine the length of any license suspension you receive. Points valued for common traffic violations include:
- Speeding - Driving with excess speed can have a wide range depending on how far over the speed limit you travel. Greater violations will receive larger point totals.
- 1-10 mph above the speed limit: 5 points
- 11-14 mph above the speed limit: 15 points
- 15-25 mph above the speed limit: 20 points
- 26+ mph above the speed limit: 50 points
- Speeding through areas that lower the speed limit for specific safety reasons, such as construction or school zones: 20 points
- Failure to abide by traffic control devices (e.g. stop lights, stop signs), or follow traffic laws: 20 points
- Driving with an open container: 25 points
- Failure to give aid following an accident with property damage, injury, or death: 50 points
The points totals you accumulate in Illinois do not have a direct result on whether or not your driving privileges are suspended. Instead, if you receive convictions for 3 traffic violations in 1 year you may have your driver's license suspended. The number of points on your record then come into play to determine the length of time your suspension will last. If you have not had a license suspension within the past 7 years, your suspension will follow the below criteria:
- Drivers with between 15 and 44 points will receive a two-month suspension
- Drivers with between 45 and 74 points will receive a three-month suspension
- Drivers with between 75 and 89 points will receive a six-month suspension
- Drivers with between 90 and 99 points will receive a nine-month suspension
How to Reduce Points on Your License
Points accumulated on your driving record are not permanently recorded. Most traffic violations will fall off your license after 4 or 5 years. If a conviction leads to a license suspension or revocation you can expect that to stay on your driving record for at least 7 years, and even longer in some cases.
Unlike some other states, Illinois does not allow drivers to remove points from their records by attending classes such as driver education programs. The only way to have them taken off your record is to wait them out. You can, however, prevent points from being assigned to your record in the first place. If your ticket is dismissed you can avoid the conviction and therefore have no points added to your record, and in some cases a judge may not assign points to your record if you pass a defensive driving course.
Can Your License Be Suspended For Getting Too Many Points?
Your license will not be suspended based on the number of points you have accumulated in Illinois. The points system in this state serves to determine the length of time your license will be suspended for if you lose your driving privileges, and has no factor on whether you will lose them. Illinois follows a simple system that sets a suspension based on the number of moving violations you receive in a set period of time rather than on the total number of points you accumulate. A suspension will be issued based on the following criteria:
- For drivers under 21: Convictions for 2 moving violations within 2 years will result in a suspension
- For drivers under 21 with a previous suspension: A conviction for any moving violation prior to the driver's 21st birthday will result in a suspension
- For drivers 21 or older: Convictions for 3 moving violations within 1 year will result in a suspension
How to Reinstate a Suspended License
The reinstatement process for most license suspensions is incredibly simple. You will have to wait until your suspension period has come to an end, and then pay a reinstatement fee of $250 for a first time suspension or $500 if you have previous suspensions must be paid to the Secretary of State. Once all holds or suspensions on your license have closed and your reinstatement fee has been paid in full your driving privileges will be restored.
If your license has been revoked or you are seeking a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) during your suspension period you will need to attend a hearing with the Secretary of State's office. During the hearing process you will be asked to present evidence to demonstrate that having your driving privileges restored will not pose a threat to the public safety. They will reference your driving record, criminal record, the results of alcohol and drug screening, your attendance of drug or alcohol rehabilitation programs, and more to reach their determination.
You may have an attorney represent you during this hearing, and it is in your best interest to do so as individuals represented by a qualified lawyer are far more likely to succeed in their hearing than those who choose to represent themselves.
Related Content: How to reinstate a suspended CDL in Illinois
Can a Lawyer Help You Avoid Drivers License Points?
The biggest thing an attorney can do to help you prevent the addition of points to your driving record is to provide you with legal representation as you fight to have your ticket dismissed. Qualified traffic violation attorneys will have the legal experience you need to get a favorable outcome for your case. This is important, as Illinois' 3 strike suspension system means that even minor traffic violations such as driving 5 miles per hour over the limit can result in a license suspension.
Even if this case would not be enough to lose you your driving privileges, auto insurance companies pay attention to the points on your driving record and you could see your insurance premiums raised as you accumulate more points. A traffic lawyer can help you keep your driving record clean to avoid insurance rate hikes.
If you have received a traffic ticket you should take the time to discuss your options with a knowledgeable traffic attorney at DUI Lawyers 24/7. Our experienced legal team knows the complexities of traffic laws, both state and local, and may be able to find an option that you would miss that could result in a reduction in charges, lessened penalties, or even a full dismissal of your ticket. Traffic offenses may not seem like a big deal, but they can have a much greater impact than you might think. Contact an attorney at DUI Lawyers 24/7 today to schedule a free case consultation.