Receiving a DUI with a minor on board can have devastating consequences, making the penalties even more severe. In Illinois, enhanced penalties apply when transporting a passenger under 18 years of age while driving with a blood alcohol concentration level over the legal limit. Depending on the circumstances surrounding your DUI arrest, this could result in hefty fines, several days in jail, the installation of an ignition interlock device, and many hours of community service.
At DUI Lawyers 24/7 we have extensive experience handling DUI cases and understand what actions should be taken to protect your rights and help you obtain the best possible outcome from your case. With offices serving throughout Illinois whenever you need help, we are here for you 24/7 to provide you with reliable legal advice during your free consultation. Our aggressive DUI attorneys will fight aggressively on your behalf and will do everything they can to ensure that you receive fair treatment in court.
Contact us today at (847) 999-7616 for a 100% FREE consultation and get your case started ASAP!
Why a DUI with a Child in the Vehicle Is More Serious
A DUI with a minor in the vehicle is an aggravating factor and will lead to additional child endangerment charges. When any type of alcohol or drugs is involved in a motor vehicle accident, the additional charges can be even more severe when there is a minor present. Driving under the influence with a minor passenger in the vehicle is considered child abuse due to the perceived vulnerability of children. The law imposes severe penalties on those found guilty.
In Illinois, drunk driving with children on board can result in significant legal consequences. Depending on the circumstances of your case and any prior DUI convictions, you could face fines of up to $25,000, license suspension, mandatory jail time of up to one year, community service, and mandatory alcohol or drug treatment programs.
In addition to these criminal penalties, if you are involved in an accident your license could be suspended for up to one year and you may also face a civil lawsuit from the injured party for bodily injury.
Penalties for a First-Time DUI With a Minor in the Vehicle
Operating a vehicle while under the influence with a minor present is classified as a form of child endangerment and is a significant violation. Child passenger charges for first-time DUI convictions with a minor in the vehicle vary by state. They can range from fines and license suspension to jail time and even felony charges. Driving under the influence with a minor on board can result in child abuse charges and increased penalties due to the risk of injury or death.
It's important to consult with an experienced DUI attorney to understand the charges and potential consequences. They may be able to negotiate a plea agreement or have the child endangerment conviction dismissed. Seeking legal counsel is the best way to protect yourself from the consequences of a DUI with a minor.
An experienced DUI lawyer can assess your case, explain the charges and penalties, discuss possible defense strategies, and negotiate with prosecutors for a lesser sentence or have the felony charges dismissed.
Will I Go to Jail for DUI Child Endangerment?
DUI with a defenseless child on board is a serious crime that can lead to serious consequences. Depending on the circumstances, you may face criminal charges for endangering the welfare of a child due to your DUI. In some states, this could mean jail time.
When a driver is charged with DUI while a minor is present in the vehicle, they may be charged as a child endangerment offender. This offense carries an additional penalty, which could include jail time. However, the severity of the sentence depends on the circumstances of the case and any previous convictions.
DUI with Child vs. Child Endangerment
When someone is charged with driving under the influence and a minor is in the car, they can also face charges of child endangerment. Depending on the state, these charges can either be separate from the DUI or combined with it. In many cases, being convicted of DUI with a minor present is considered more serious than having a regular DUI charge because it puts another person's life at risk.
Child endangerment is a separate offense from driving under the influence and carries its own set of punishments. These punishments can range from fines to jail time, depending on the severity of the case and any prior convictions.
Seek Representation from Our Experienced DUI Lawyers
If you have been charged with DUI (driving under the influence) and there was a minor on board at the time of your arrest, it is imperative to seek experienced legal representation from an experienced DUI 24/7 lawyer.
A conviction for this crime carries serious consequences that can include jail time, hefty fines, and permanent damage to your reputation. Experienced DUI attorneys understand the complexities associated with a DUI charge with a child in the vehicle and can work to help you find the best possible outcome for your situation.
At DUI Lawyers 24/7, our drunk driving charge lawyers have extensive experience representing clients accused of DUI with a minor in the vehicle. Our attorneys understand what action needs to be taken to protect your rights and defense strategies that could help achieve a favorable outcome for your case.
Regardless of the circumstances of your arrest, our team is here to provide reliable legal advice and guidance during your initial consultation. We will fight aggressively on your behalf and ensure that you receive fair treatment in court. Contact us today at (847) 999-7616 to learn more about how our experienced DUI lawyers can help you.