The penalties for DUI on a suspended license in Illinois can result in severe consequences. The severity of the punishment depends on the offense's severity and past convictions.
Penalties may include fines, hours or days of community service, loss of driving privileges, or jail time. First-time offenders can face up to one year in prison and $2,500 in fines. Refusal of a chemical test can extend the statutory summary suspension by up three years. Second or third offenses can lead to up three-to-seven years in prison, restricted driving permits, and $25,000 fines. The driver's license is revoked for at least five years. Offenders for reckless homicide may need substance abuse evaluation, treatment programs, and victim impact panels. They may also face administrative penalties.
If convicted, offenders should complete all punishments, participate in rehabilitation programs, utilize a device driving permit, and have proof of abstinence from alcohol while driving. If you are in this situation, seek help from an experienced Illinois DUI attorney at DUI Lawyers 24/7 in Illinois.
What is a Suspended License?
A suspended license is a penalty enforced by the state for breaking driving regulations, including being found by a police officer operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content higher than the legal limit. During the suspension period, the individual is not permitted by law from driving a motor vehicle. The suspension can be lifted once the driver has met specific requirements, including paying fines, serving a term of imprisonment, and completing a court-ordered community service program.
The length of suspension for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs depends on the severity of the offense or any subsequent convictions and can range from a few weeks to several years.
Automatic License Suspension
According to the law in Illinois, individuals who are convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol during their license suspension period will face additional penalties, such as an extended suspension period and possible time in jail, hefty fines, compulsory attendance at alcohol treatment programs, and other punishments.
Length of Suspension
The length of a suspension for driving under the combination of alcohol and drugs on a suspended license in Illinois depends on several factors. The main factor is if it is a first-time offense or a subsequent violation.
For first traffic offenses, the minimum penalty is a 12-month suspension. Subsequent offenses result in a 36-month suspension. The court will also review prior traffic tickets, petty traffic offenses, or traffic violations, to determine the suspension length.
Requirements for Reinstatement
Individuals with a suspension related to driving with a blood alcohol concentration level above the legal limit may have to complete specific requirements before they are eligible to reinstate their valid license. These requirements could include fines, alcohol abuse treatment programs, court fees, and hours of community service.
First, complete all court-ordered requirements. Then, pay fines, license reinstatement fees, and license reinstatement charges for the DUI offense. A drug or alcohol evaluation or treatment program may also be necessary.
Driving with an underlying suspension on a driving license in Illinois can lead to criminal charges and more severe license consequences, such as extended suspension, an alcohol ignition interlock device, jail time, fines, license exams, alcohol education programs, community service, and mandatory evaluation or treatment.
Criminal Penalties for a DUI While Driving with a Suspended License
Driving with a suspended license and driving with a blood alcohol concentration level over the legal limit while the license is suspended are criminal offenses in Illinois, and may result in legal consequences. Penalties vary depending on the severity of the offense and the number of prior offenses.
First-time offenders can expect up to a 364-day prison sentence and fines of up $to 2,500. Second and subsequent offenses which result in a motor vehicle accident can result in up 7 years in prison, having a breath alcohol ignition interlock device installed, heavy fines, and an extended suspension period.
Learn More: Check Out Illinois' Suspended License Criteria
Convicted individuals with a DUI-related suspension may also face another wide range of consequences such as damaged reputations and difficulty finding employment, loans, or insurance. These consequences can hurt an individual's life and persist beyond the suspension period.
In Illinois, driving with a suspended or revoked license offense while under the influence has severe penalties. A conviction for this crime means a mandatory minimum sentence of 5 days in jail and fines of up to $2,500. The offender's license privileges may also be revoked for an additional year beyond the original suspension period. A third conviction results in even harsher punishments, including up to 7 years of mandatory jail time and fines of up to $25,000.
In addition to DUI penalties, the offender may have to complete an alcohol or drug evaluation and treatment program and be subject to other restrictions like an ignition interlock device or a restricted license.
In Illinois, a DUI on a suspended license carries severe consequences, including potential imprisonment, monetary fines, and further suspension of driving privileges. The state enforces maximum penalties for this offense. In Illinois, individuals convicted of DUI on a suspended license may receive a sentence of up to 364 days in jail for a first-time offense, and up to 7 years in prison for a second or subsequent offense.
The penalties for driving under the influence on a suspended license vary from $1,000 up to $25,000 and are influenced by specific circumstances and prior convictions. If someone is convicted of driving under the influence while driving with a suspended license, their license permit privileges may be suspended for an extended period of one year beyond the initial suspension.
Call an Experienced DUI Attorney Today at DUI Lawyers 24/7!
If you are charged with driving with a blood alcohol content level above the legal limit during the period of license suspension in Illinois, get help and a professional evaluation from a DUI attorney immediately. DUI on a suspended license may result in severe legal penalties such as fines, jail time, and losing your license. An experienced traffic attorney can protect your rights, review your case, and explain the potential penalties and defenses. Contact DUI Lawyers 24/7 experienced criminal defense lawyers now for a free consultation.