DUI Lawyers 24/7 Logo

What Are the Seatbelt Laws in Illinois?

Understanding seatbelt laws in Illinois is crucial for every driver and passenger to ensure safety on the road. Illinois has stringent seatbelt laws aimed at reducing injuries and fatalities in motor vehicle accidents. Whether you're a resident or just passing through, knowing these laws can help you avoid fines and protect yourself in case of an accident. In this guide, we'll delve into the specifics of seatbelt regulations in Illinois, including who is required to wear a seatbelt, when it's mandatory, and the consequences of non-compliance.

For more information on Illinois laws or statutes contact our Lake County traffic attorneys to discuss your situation. Call our firm at 847-999-7616 today if you need help with a traffic case.

Illinois Seatbelt Laws

Illinois has a mandatory seat belt law. It applies to all drivers and front-seat passengers in motor vehicles such as cars, vans, pickup trucks, and SUVs. Children under 8 years old must be secured in an approved child safety seat technician restraint that follows the seat manufacturer's guidelines. All other passengers, regardless of age or size, must use an adult lap or shoulder safety belt.

There are exceptions to the law, including vehicles manufactured before 1968 without lap or shoulder belts, individuals with a medical reason supported by a doctor's certification, delivery personnel making frequent stops, farmers on their property, people engaged in work requiring frequent vehicle entry and exit, and those riding in parades or public exhibitions.

a seatbelt indicator light on a dashboard

Failure to wear seat safety belts can result in a fine of up to $25 per person, with additional court costs and fees. If a child under 8 is not properly secured, the fine can be increased by up to $50 per child.

Seatbelt laws differ by state, and it is crucial to be aware of and adhere to the laws in your state to ensure safe and lawful driving. For more information, please contact DUI Lawyers 24/7.

Seatbelt Regulations For Children

In Illinois, seatbelt laws are strictly enforced by police officers for road safety. Everyone in a moving vehicle must wear a seatbelt. Adults 18 and over must wear a seatbelt across their lap and shoulder.

Children between the ages of 2 and 4 should stay in a rear-facing child seat for as long as possible, or until they weigh 40 pounds or measure 40 inches in height.

FAQ: How Can a Traffic Lawyer Help You?

Under child safety seat laws children under 8 must be in an approved child safety restraint system in a forward-facing safety seat and ride in the backseat unless they are taller than 4 feet 9 inches. The driver is responsible for ensuring all passengers are properly belted. 

Are Children Allowed In The Front Seat in Illinois?

In Illinois, it is against the law to allow children under the age of 8 to ride in the front seat of a vehicle unless they are over 4'9" tall. It is also recommended that all children 12 years old and younger ride in the rear seat of the vehicle. All passengers must be properly secured in either an appropriate child restraint system or with a safety belt, depending on their age.

Penalties for Violating the Seatbelt Laws in Illinois

In Illinois, everyone must wear a seatbelt in a moving vehicle. Not wearing one is a seat belt violation. Adults can be fined up to $25 for not wearing a seatbelt, and up to $200 if pulled over for another violation. They will also have to pay court costs and fees.

Learn More: How to Prepare for Traffic Court

For children under 8, the fines increase to $50 per child if they are not properly secured in a child safety restraint. The driver can also get 3 points on their license for each unrestrained child.

Primary Offense for Adult Drivers and Passengers

In Illinois, seatbelt laws apply to all drivers and passengers over the age of 8. It is considered a primary petty offense for any adult driver or passenger not wearing a seatbelt while in a motor vehicle. This means that law enforcement officers can pull over vehicles for the sole purpose of checking if occupants are wearing their seatbelts. If an individual is found to violate this law, they can be issued a ticket and fined up to $25.

a person buckling their seatbelt

Primary Offense for Children Under Age 8 and Less than 4'9" Tall

Children under age 8 and less than 4'9" tall in Illinois must be restrained in a child restraint system. This means they need to be in a car seat or booster seat when riding in a vehicle. The child restraint system should meet federal standards, be installed correctly, and be appropriate for the child's age, height, and weight. Law enforcement officers can stop vehicles to check if children are properly restrained. Violators can be ticketed and fined up to $50 per child.

What Is the Illinois Child Passenger Protection Act?

Children under 8 years old in Illinois must be properly secured in a child safety seat or booster seat while riding in a vehicle. The appropriate restraint system should be used based on the child's size and age, as determined by the NHTSA. If a child is under 8 years old and less than 4 feet 9 inches tall, they must be secured in a car seat or booster seat. Violating this law can result in a ticket and a fine of up to $50 per child.

What are the Age, Weight, and Height Requirements for Child Car Seats in Illinois?

In Illinois, children must use a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old and at least 4 feet 9 inches tall. Kids under 40 pounds should be in a car seat suited for their weight and height. Parents should check that the car seat is properly installed and appropriate for their child's weight and height.

Related Content: How Drivers License Points Work in Illinois

The law mandates rear-facing car seats for children under 2 years old. Forward-facing car seats are required for kids between 2 and 4 years old. Booster seats are necessary for children who are at least 4 but under 8 years old and weigh between 40 and 80 pounds.

Contact an Illinois Traffic Attorney for a Free Consultation

If you're charged with a seat belt safety violation in Illinois, you need to know the law and the penalties. The seatbelt laws in Illinois are there to protect everyone from injuries in car accidents. In Illinois, all drivers and passengers must wear a seatbelt when driving on public roads. Children under 8 must be properly restrained in a child safety seat or booster seat.

If you're charged with a seatbelt violation, contact our Illinois traffic defense lawyers for a free consultation about your rights and options.

Text Us
tagphone-handsetclockcross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram